July 7, 2021

Forsyth County Joins the Atlanta Regional Commission

As of July 1, 2021, Forsyth County has joined the Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC), leaving the Georgia Mountain Regional Commission (GMRC). With the addition of Forsyth County to the ARC, the regional planning and intergovernmental coordination agency for various metro-Atlanta counties and cities now serves 11 counties including Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry and Rockdale.

“After decades of a fruitful and mutual relationship with GMRC, Forsyth County looks forward to the regional partnership that ARC will bring,” said Board of Commissioners Chairwoman Cindy Jones Mills. “The transition over to the Atlanta Regional Commission will give Forsyth County residents a stronger voice about our future in key areas, including transportation planning and water quality. I would like to express my gratitude to my fellow board members and to the local legislative delegation for the many months of hard work that made this possible.”

In Fall 2019, the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners petitioned for the County to move from the GMRC to the ARC. The Georgia Senate and House approved a resolution in March 2021 for a move to the ARC, followed by Gov. Brian Kemp signing HR 130 transferring Forsyth County to the ARC effective July 1, 2021.

“Forsyth County is one of the most dynamic and important parts of metro Atlanta. In many ways, the County’s fast-growing and evolving population reflects the future of our region,” said ARC Board Chairman Kerry Armstrong. “This growth also brings ever-increasing challenges in long-range planning. We look forward to having Forsyth join our efforts in improving the quality of life for everyone in the Atlanta region.”

To learn more about this announcement watch a video from Forsyth County Government’s Leadership HERE.

July 7, 2021 Laura Stewart