December 12, 2018

2018 MODL Award Winners

2018 MODL award winners: from left, Manufacturing Resources International, Hansgrohe, Scientific Games International, Metcam, Inc.

The winners of the MODL awards. From left to right: Dr. Ray Perren, Melissa Hornsby representing LR-MRI, Ryan Ramaker representing Hansgrohe, Phil Bauer representing Scientific Games International, Rodney Moore, and Rose Rodriguez, Jason Freeman, and Bruce Hagenau representing Metcam Inc.

The MODL Awards

The Cumming-Forsyth County Chamber of Commerce, in partnership with the South Forsyth Rotary Club, will host the second annual Manufacturers of Distinction and Leadership (MODL) Awards. These awards serve as an opportunity to recognize the exceptional, local companies involved in the manufacturing, processing or distribution of tangible products and celebrate the many contributions these companies provide to Forsyth County. 

“The face of modern-day manufacturing is an important element in local workforce development and the Chamber is proud to partner with local companies investing in the region’s future,” commented Robert Long, Vice President of Economic Development at the Chamber of Commerce.

The Chamber and the Rotary Club also announced a new award this year: The Environmental Sustainability Award. The winner of this award aims to be leaner (no waste), greener (no impact) and globally competitive.

Winners have been announced in the following categories

     Medium Manufacturer of the Year

  • Hansgrohe, Inc.
  • Manufacturing Resources International

     Large Manufacturer of the Year

  • Scientific Games International

     Environmental Sustainability Award

  • Metcam, Inc.

These winners are submitted to the Georgia Manufacturer of the Year for consideration for the state awards in April 2019. In 2018, Governor Deal named Metcam, Inc. Small Manufacturer of the Year.

The Ceremony

The Forsyth Conference Center hosted the MODL Awards Ceremony, held on December 5, 2018. First, the Fine Arts Coordinator at Forsyth County Schools Catherine Keyser recognized the two winners of the Forsyth County Schools’ Art Design Contest. Then, the Director of College and Career Development at Forsyth County Schools Dr. Valery Lower honored the Forsyth County Schools’ Engineering and Manufacturing Educator of the Year, Travis Hodges.

Finally, Rodney Moore, President of Express Employment Professionals, announced and recognized the award recipients. The event program also featured Dr. Ray Perren, President of Lanier Technical College, and Thomas Martin, Senior Portfolio Manager at GLOBALT Investments, as the keynote speakers.

To see photos from the event, click here.

December 12, 2018 Communications Coordinator